top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAJ Salamy

Disco Queen

Hello. Some of you may be wondering why I didn't post all summer. Most of you are not. However, I will explain to all of you anyway that I didn't post this summer because I was going through a lot of big life changes and didn't have time to devote to taking and editing pictures for posts. For anyone who was there for me this summer in any capacity you'll know this is a huge understatement lol but I won't go into anything to personal cuz that's boring to me. Y'all are here for the content!!!! I decided I needed to do a comeback blog post after letting this site go inactive for so many months, and there's no better comeback than a good old bathtub photoshoot. If you know me at all you know I love taking pictures in bathtubs for some reason. I think the idea of taking pictures in the bathroom is so vulnerable because that's where the sacred and very personal act of getting ready takes place. I decided to dress up in a costume evening gown and do my makeup to juxtapose with the intimacy of the location. My inspiration was along the lines of a 1950's housewife getting dressed up to murder her husband and then clean up the blood afterwards with a shower. I was lucky that my good friend Jakob Kramer shared my vision and was able to get some amazing shots with only an iPhone 8. The polka dot lighting wasn't an intentional choice, a side effect of the light we used, but I ended up loving the way it looked almost like a disco ball. My outfit inspiration was very Rita Moreno from West Side Story, a musical very close to my heart considering I reprised Moreno's role of Anita during my senior year. I'm also very tired of pictures of myself, so if any photographers and models want to work with me to flesh out some ideas I have hmu!!!!!!! Also there were so many pictures I made it easier to see all of them in a slideshow type format instead of list view, lmk if you like it better or worse haha I'm insecure!!!


53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page