top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAJ Salamy

PROM: Looks Breakdown

For this post, I'm going to analyze the individual beauty and fashion looks that I put together for the shoot. Trust me, a lot of thought went into everybody's getup.


Photo Creds Lainey Kinneer

PC Lainey Kinneer

From the start, I knew I wanted Janaye to be my beautiful pink princess. I highlighted her natural freckles with pink glitter to match her pink prom dress that I got from Goodwill, and I kept her eyes a simple blush pink to emphasize the innocence of her look. The heart lip really solidified the "doll" aspect that is reflected in her hair clips and the plastic shoes.


PC Stefanie Murza

PC Stefanie Murza

For Lauryn, I was inspired by Winona Ryder's classic Beetlejuice bangs. I wanted her to add an edgy alternative vibe to the group, and she ended up providing all her own pieces but the necklace. I did her eyes dark and smokey but left the rest of her face simple to emphasize her doe eyes, and I teased her hair to bring the curl out for a fun grunge look!


PC Stefanie Murza

PC Stefanie Murza

Mark's look was honestly one of my favorites because I didn't think he'd let me do his makeup. Thankfully, he was feeling adventurous and I think the smudge of eyeshadow under his eyes looked SO cool and effortless. Thanks to the humidity, his hair didn't hold the outrageously teased 'do, but the way it fell in a kinda mullet worked out really well. I wanted him in the pink blazer to match Bre's pink detailing, but the glitter shirt Mark brought from his own closet really stole the show.


PC Lainey Kinneer

PC Stefanie Murza

I'm just gonna say it. Luke Tibbs is single, ladies.His vibe was modeled after David Bowie and his love for extreme silhouettes and patterns. For Luke's makeup I put smudgy black eyeshadow around his eyes and even applied a touch of mascara. For guys, less is obviously more, and I feel like Luke's makeup did the absolute MOST. He actually provided everything from his fit but the chain around his neck, and I loved the way it turned out.


PC Lainey Kinneer

PC Lainey Kinneer

Nat's look was based off of the glamour of Princess Diana in the 80s mixed with a grunge cinderella. It made sense in my mind, ok. The blue sequined dress was found at Goodwill, and the accessories were mine. For her hair I wanted that middle part with the Farrah Faucet bangs swooping out, and for her eye makeup I used a lot of blue eyeshadow and just lined the crease with silver glitter paste.


PC Lainey Kinneer

PC Lainey Kinneer

From the start, I knew I wanted Diana to be my disco queen. I love the texture of her hair, so I asked her to style it as exaggerated as possible to get that 70s feel which matched her red sequined party dress. I loved that all the girls were in sneakers or some unconventional shoe, so I had her wear her dirty converse to contrast with the high glamour of her look. For her makeup, I layered gold glitter on her eyes and did a blurry, just made-out-in-a-closet red lip.


PC Lainey Kinneer

PC Lainey Kinneer

Dom's look was inspired by two movie characters: Duckie from Pretty in Pink and Alex from A Clockwork Orange. I feel like he's a manlier version of both. His makeup was actually my favorite to do and my least favorite to see get sweated off because I had drawn on fake lashes under one eye to mimic A Clockwork Orange, but the humidity of the abandoned building proved more powerful. I did try to slick his hair all the way back but the Lebanese curls are also powerful (I would know) so we ended up with defined curls which I loved.


PC Lainey Kinneer

PC Stefanie Murza

Bre's look was so fun to conceptualize and figure out how to carry out. I got her white silk dress from Goodwill, and the pearl heart earrings were from Target. I had her wear her chunky Doc Martens to contrast with the sweet lightness of the rest of her outfit. Her hair I had slicked back and pinned down until the nape of her neck where I teased and hairsprayed until it didn't feel like hair anymore. I used lip liner for the hearts on her eyes, and kept the rest of her face almost bare to emphasize her natural beauty.

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page