top of page
Search
Writer's pictureAJ Salamy

The Witching Hour

It's that time of year again, folks. October. If you know me you know I LOVE Halloween more than anything else. It's the one time of the year I get to celebrate all things spooky and unsettling. So in honor, or should I say in horror, of my favorite holiday, I put together a super spooky shoot to showcase the modeling talents of Danielle Green and Hallie Cox. This shoot turned out completely different than I had envisioned it due to time restraints and conflicts, but I absolutely fell in love with the end result. This shoot is also a rare occasion where I actually stepped behind the camera to take the pictures, something that made me extremely nervous but also excited to attempt, and I think we played around with it until we got some fun shots! I would love to learn more about photography because I respect the photographers I get to work with so much for knowing what all those buttons do. I also respect my models for being willing to just get barefoot and dance around in the rain when I asked them to, and the dancing shots were my absolute favorites because their white dresses looked phantasmagoric and their eyes glinting in the dark looked unsettling. For their makeup, I used concealer, and a little bit of glue, to cover up their eyebrows to achieve an otherworldly appearance, then I used red lipstick on their eyes because it had a sheen that I liked because it reminded me of the slick wetness of blood. Their crowns were made out of wire and sticks I found behind my house and fake greenery that I found in my room. I love when hair looks messy and undone, so I teased both of their hair until I thought they looked sufficiently unkempt because I wanted them to feel like witches who live in the woods casting spells. Anyway, I had a lot of fun with this shoot even though it didn't resemble my original idea. Happy Halloween, y'all ;)


75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page